College in a Suitcase

Stand Up to Cancer

Posted on: August 15, 2008

Recently I had the opportunity to be part of a very special video project. This was a video project for Stand Up to Cancer. Bloggers all over the web took pictures of why they stand for cancer and Tara complied them in a video.

I couldn’t imagine getting cancer at the age of 17 and then going to college. I wouldn’t now how to handle that. But people handle having cancer and still trying to go on with their normal lives every day. Degrassi I think did a great thing by bringing cancer into the light by having a main and well loved character Spinner get testicular cancer.

Cancer is a horrible disease and it can affect anyone. The worst of all is when it affects kids and people my age. Kids and people my age don’t deserve to have to battle this. Little, little kids can’t even understand what’s happening to them. And teens have so much of their life ahead of them. I’ve been personally affected. I love my grandfather to cancer, and my grandmother also had a battle with cancer. One of my best friends lost his boyfriend to cancer. It’s a horrible disease and I hate to say this but the chances are highly likely that you will be affected by it somehow in your life.

That’s why it’s important that we stand up to cancer. The more research we can do, the better cures we can find, the more lives we can save. I’m proud to say that I stand up to cancer and I stand up to cancer for the children.

You can find the facebook page here and I will be cross posting this on my other blog.

Leave a comment