College in a Suitcase

Mapping It Out Monday

Posted on: August 18, 2008

So I figure that we will all be doing some learning in the near future. Even if you’re not going into college, chances are that you are going to have to or will chose to learn something in the near future. I’m going to take the next hundred Mondays to review the hundred helpful websites listed here.

Today I’m starting with Bubbl.us, a mind mapping tool. It boasts of being colorful, that you can do it online, that you can share with friends, that you can embed it in your blog, that you can e-mail it, print it, and make it an image. Best of all it’s free, so I lose nothing by trying this.

It’s pretty straight forward to start working with. You click and huge and obvious button that says start brainstorming and it takes you straight there.

The review:
I only had to play around with it for a little bit to see that this would be, in my opinion, very helpful for anyone who likes to mind map on paper. Personally, I don’t work best that way, but was sometimes required to do it.

Here are, in no particular order, the top ten best features (and this was a hard pick!)

1. It has an undo button. (I make a lot of mistakes and these are always helpful).
2. You can save your sheets on there! They will take up no space on your computer.
3. You can share with your friends (or partners in a group project). Not only that but when sharing you have the option of giving them full edit access, or just read only.
4. You can embed it in your blog (though in WordPress you have to download a plugin, which to be quite honest, is a downside for me. I’m just too lazy. Deal with it.)
5. You can change the color of the bubbles for easy coordination.
6. You can connect bubbles to more than one bubble. (Like say if I wanted to show that can opener was related to both dining and to measuring cups, I could do that).
7. You can zoom.
8. It allows you to set the print area for easy printing.
9. In case you do want it on your computer, you can download it.
10. It’s free! (That’s always a major plus in my book).

Anyways I hope you enjoyed this Mapping It Out Monday and that you have a great day and that you find this helpful!

2 Responses to "Mapping It Out Monday"

Thank for sharing

You’re welcome! I hope it helps you.

Leave a Reply

