College in a Suitcase

Don’t Let Yourself Fall Silent (Even if You Are a Shy Person)

Posted on: January 6, 2009

“Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.” – Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

You know something?

Well, I’m sure you do, but do you know something about one of the most emotional experiences of my life?

I was there. I was there where he was assassinated. I was there at many different places of the civil rights movement. I’ve been to Kelly Ingram Park and to Selma and I’ve met Miss Joanne Bland, who marched across that bridge on Bloody Sunday and is truly a phenomenal woman.

It deeply saddens me inside that people can’t treat other people with the respect they deserve. But do you know something else? Martin Luther King Jr. was right. Our lives do end a little the day we don’t speak up. And you may say, there’s no great injustices happening by me, and you may truly believe it, but it’s not always a great injustice, sometimes it’s a small injustice. Every time you don’t speak up when you see someone picked on, for whatever reason, you hurt that person a little and you hurt yourself a little. It’s kind of along the same lines as this poem:

First they came for the Communists,
and I didn’t speak up,
because I wasn’t a Communist.
Then they came for the Social Democrats,
and I didn’t speak up,
because I wasn’t a Social Democrat.
Then they came for the Trade Unionists,
and I didn’t speak up,
because I wasn’t a Trade Unionist.
Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak up,
because I wasn’t a Jew,
Then they came for me,
and by that time there was no one
left to speak up for me.
-Pastor Martin Niemoller

I think it’s true. I mean, say for example you see the gay who lives on your floor being bullied and you do nothing about it. You don’t have to agree to stop someone. Not everyone is pro-LGBT rights and I understand this because I am not either, however, that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t stop them. I mean, a person is a person first of all and if you don’t say that kind of harassment is wrong then who is going to stop it when they come and harass you for your religion?

People are people. Bottom line for me, no matter how conservative I may be.

Oh and would you like to see some pictures from our trip down south? I think you would. I went with school and it was awesome.

Our group on the steps of the 16th Street Baptist Church

Our group on the steps of the 16th Street Baptist Church

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

