College in a Suitcase

Today and Today Only

Posted on: January 7, 2009

“Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.” — Groucho Marx

I like this quote. Especially as it comes from someone named Groucho. (Seriously? Poor kid. His name just sounds unhappy).

But I think this quote rings true. Life is definitely what you make it. Let me tell you something about me. I used to be high stress and I worried all the time. But do you know what I decided? I didn’t want to live like that anymore. I mean why should I? What do I honestly have to worry about? God told me he would provide – and He will, of that I am confident.

And I’m not gonna lie. I still worry. When I’m looking at my next semester where I’m taking 18 credits and I’m probably getting a third job and I’m heavily involved with things on campus, it’s hard to not worry at least some of the time. I guess my biggest thing is telling myself that it’s okay not to worry, that I don’t have to worry, that life will go on just fine if I don’t.

And then on top of that, I say 5 good things that happened during the day. Now that can be anything from big things to little things. It doesn’t matter so much. I mean, it’s not so much about the good things that happened, but about realizing that good things did happen. I know that sometimes all I write down is something like ‘There was good toppings for the ice cream.’ Even on probably the most stressful and worst day this semester, when I broke up with my boyfriend of two and a half years and I spent most of the day crying, I still managed to come up with 5 good things. Some nights it’s hard, especially when you’re starting or when not a lot happened, but it is possible.

So how about it? What are you going to do to insure that you are happy today? Especially in the times our country is facing, you have got to take positive action. You always have something to be thankful for.

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

