College in a Suitcase

How Lazy I Have Been

Posted on: January 14, 2009

So in the past couple of days, I have been super lazy. I don’t start school until next week Tuesday and I purposely decided not to work over break. As a result, I do a whole lot of nothing and feel almost completely lazy almost all the time.

But I have done a lot of reading, especially this past week when my closest friends from the area and my boyfriend went back to school. But as Kathryn reminds me,
“Reading is research.”
Now you could look at this from a very straightforward approach with the obvious non-fiction angle if you’re writing a book that takes place in say, Ancient Rome, to throw that out there, then you’ll obviously read materials on Ancient Rome. However, I’m not merely talking a non-fiction here. Actually, I would like to focus heavily on the fiction aspect of it. I did go through my non-fiction kick this summer, but what I love to read the most is fiction and still mostly YA at that. How does this help my reading? Well for one thing, the more you are around correct grammar, the better your grammar will be because things will feel natural from seeing them over and over again. Also, it will just teach you essential things about stories. I think that reading fiction teaches you the way a story flows and can sometimes teach you what you do not want to do. For example, I read Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer and for the most part I really liked it. However, I know there were many people who felt that Bella was weak as a newborn, after all, how much time had been spent with the characters worrying about her state as a newborn to just have her shrug it off like she had always been a vampire? Identifying what we don’t like in a piece of writing is just as helpful as knowing what we do. Also, I feel that the more diverse your reading is, the more your writing will benefit from because you will not feel so afraid to just limit yourself to one genre and you will be able to try out others or ever cross the sacred genre lines.

But I think, having just said all of that, it is still important to remember that if you read too much, you will never get around to writing. So research well, but make sure you get a chance to apply it.

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

