College in a Suitcase

Critic’s Corner

Posted on: January 21, 2009

So I know I’ve been gone for a few days. I apologize. I am going to try and blog regularly, but I don’t know if it will be every day as it has been. On Sunday I moved back into the res hall; yesterday I started classes. This cuts down on my time drastically. For example, today I have class from 9 to 12:20 and then I have approximately 40 minutes to eat lunch at the busiest time of the day in the cafeteria then I have class from 1:10 – 2:30 and then work from 2:30 – 4. The best part about this is that I don’t have philosophy club because, as much as I love it, I know I will appreciate that free time. I am worked on this during my lunch break with only five minutes left before I should have left and as I speak I have to be at work early and can only write this because I got out of class early.

So as you can see, I am quite the busy person. Not intentionally, well, maybe intentionally as I like to be busy, but also, unintentionally. It’s not my fault I have four classes on one day.

But back to my series, since I can access the site again. Kathryn’s next mantra is “My opinion matters more than my critics’ opinion.”

Now, when you think about critics, you have to separate them by kinds. I’m going to separate them into three categories. Self critics, Self-known critics, and F and I critics.

Self Critics
There’s only one person who can be a self-critic and that is you. Self critics are what I would put as the most dangerous kind. Because they never seem to tell you the truth. Either your critic tells you that everything you write is the most wonderful thing written to man . . . or your critic tells you it sucks and should die a thousand horrible deaths. Repeatedly. So this one is best ignored. Forever. Trust me. I know, it’s one of the hardest ones to ignore, but you will be better off for it.

Self-known Critics
These are people you know. They include, but are not limited to, family, friends, and people in your writing groups. Whatever they say should always be taken with a grain of salt. Your family and friends may want to believe it’s good because they care about you (ie, your mom thinks you do everything great!). The people in your writing group my tell you it sucks because you’re jealous. However, you should not ignore everything. If many people who are not connected in any way tell you that you’re main character is Mary Sue-ish, you should probably at least consider that possibility and give it further examination.

F and I Critics
In case you’re wondering what F and I stands for, it stands for fish and ice cream. No, it stands for famous and important, I just wanted to see what you thought of fish and ice cream (I am hungry). Anyways, these are people whose opinions probably should have the most influence. For example, if you have a friend who is well published and successful give you your opinion, it should be at least taken into consideration and not be immediately discarded. However, if you have an agent and they’re saying, if you change this so that this happens, then I will take your book. Do it. You won’t regret it. And you’ll be published.

So those are what I would call the three type of critics and how much their opinions matter and what to think of their opinions. And after all, you should seriously think about whether my opinion is legitimate. You know some of my background, but not all of it. And even this should be taken with a grain of salt. Follow your gut. I’m not an F and I. Yet anyways.

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

