College in a Suitcase

What We (You and Me) Deserve

Posted on: February 7, 2009

So if you’re reading this, you may be wondering what I’m doing as I’m writing this. Okay, maybe you aren’t, but I’m going to tell you what’s up anyways.

I am procrastinating. Horribly. I have a paper due on Monday and a paper due on Tuesday among other things. One is more of a personal reflection type and the other is What is Sophocles’ view of justice. I should be working on them. Instead, I’m sitting here, eating a crunchy peanut butter with grape jelly on honey wheat bread sandwich and drinking strawberry kiwi juice while thinking about going outside with my window open and the sun streaming out and listening to The Awkward Stage in Session from the CBC Radio 3 podcast (which I <3). I am also missing my boyfriend, who left to go on band tour today (which, if you know anything, doesn’t mean that he isn’t here because he’s never here. Long distance, man, but I’m in it for the long haul and the long run).

You know what I deserve? Probably a swift kick in the butt to get me going. Do you know what else I deserve? Some time for myself. I feel like I do not get enough of that. Or maybe I am just lazy. But I am working 2 jobs and taking 18 credits. I’m also highly involved on campus. So free time is slim to none. Actually today I think I’m going to move my calendar to a more prominent place. I kind of just need to clean and rearrange my room, I feel like. It’s time for a change, on all levels.

But what we really deserve you know, is to love ourselves. I mean, what more can you ask for? Whatever you’re doing at whatever level, you deserve to have some love and respect for yourself. The path you’ve chosen, whatever it may be and however people may feel about it, is not easy. But you deserve it. You deserve to treat yourself to something at least once a month, no matter how much you’re trying to save money (like I am, for my future – which reminds me, I think I need to call my bank about my loans. Sigh), just do something for yourself, like see a movie (I recommend Slumdog Millionaire, it is awesome).

Do you know what else you deserve? “My writing is good enough to serve fair pay.” (which, by the way, is the next mantra). You deserve to be paid for what you’re doing and to paid fairly. Whether that means that A on your next test or paper or actually submitting something and getting paid. It’s about what you deserve, no matter who you are, you shouldn’t have to settle. Obama even has recently passed the equal pay act. By the way, equal and fair are not the same. You shouldn’t get the same pay as another writer (student, fill in the blank with your job), you should get the pay your writing (homework, work) deserves. But how often does that happen? It’s questionable.

You can demand it in certain ways, but not always without more consequences. But know that while you deserve this, you also deserve to be happy, so don’t make yourself miserable going after it. Make yourself happy and know that you’ve done a satisfactory job.

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

