College in a Suitcase

A Commonality in a Suitcase

Posted on: March 29, 2009

I almost don’t feel like writing today. Something’s on my mind and it’s not one of those things that can be shared with the blogging world or perhaps with anyone else for that matter. I don’t know. We’ll see. Well you guys won’t, but whether or not anyone else does is debatable. I’m trying to trust God and I’ve prayed that he allows me to let this go and find peace, but the devil is hard at work right after I’ve been the happiest. This is something I’ve prayed hard about before and I feel like I will continue to have to pray hard about it. But oh well. I will do it and I know that God will help me through it.

Now that I have that off my chest, I can go onto the mantra for today.

“The most well-known writers have felt bad about their work.”

This is pretty straight forward, but let me add a story that I heard. (And I am now continuing this post from when I started writing it on Friday. I’ve been busy with the pro-life conference. And God did take away my upsetness I started the post with, but I’m standing by my decision to start it that way). Anyways, the story. A writer calls up his agent and goes “‘I’m three quarters of the way through and this book is horrible.” His agent says to him, “Neil, you’ve told me this about every one of your books. Now just go finish it.” Now I don’t know if it has any validity to it, but I’ve heard it a couple times about the famous author Neil Gaiman.

So I guess the point I’m making is even some of the best writers think their work is crap. But really, it’s brilliant. So don’t worry what you think, just go on writing.

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

