College in a Suitcase

Just Say No

Posted on: April 10, 2009

I’m sure by that title, you think this post is about drugs or sex or any number of things. I can assure you, on this Good Friday, when our Savior stretched out His arms to die upon the cross because He loved us that much, that this post is merely another post in my mantra series.

But today’s mantra is interesting, as I feel that I have to disagree. Today’s manta, which I graciously got from Kathryn, is

“I can say “no” if I don’t want to waste my time writing something. ”

It’s true, if you don’t want to waste your time writing something, you can choose to say no. But, it’s not always a wise choice. I, for example, have a 5-10 page single-space short story due on Wednesday. I could really chose not to write it, but, as it is a big part of my grade, choosing not to write it would be detrimental to my grade. So, yeah, you can choose what to write and what not to write, but like anything in life, there will sometimes be consequences.

That’s all for today. Though you should also probably say no to drugs. And to sex before marriage. And to dressing up like a gigantic hot dog for your boss and parading up and down the streets in the middle of summer when the fan in the suit is broken.

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

