College in a Suitcase

A Break from the Ordinary

Posted on: April 18, 2009

I know I’ve been doing the mantra series and I know I’ve gotten a lot of links from that recently, but sometimes a more pressing issue and a more pressing blog post presents itself to you as an opportunity.

The linked post was written by my boyfriend earlier this week. I read it and the first thing I did was ask him if he would be okay with me expanding it and posting more about it on my blog and he told me go ahead.

So that’s what I’m doing. You can read it if you want the awesome quote.

But anyways, if you didn’t know this, I am very strongly Lutheran.

And it’s so true. You can’t be half Christian. You either are or you aren’t. God isn’t someone you talk to only when you’re having problems or only in church on Sunday. God wants to be in your life all the time, whether it’s the best or worst day of your life. And you can’t do Christianity half-heartedly. I mean, to me, this is the greatest message in the world and it should be shared with everyone.

So this title has two parts to it. One, a break from my mantras and two, I’m a break from the ordinary. No matter how hard I try, I will never be like everyone else. God sets me apart. I mean, people are continuously shocked that I never did anything with my ex-boyfriend, even though we were dating for two and a half years. People usually think that means I’ve gone until third base or beyond. No, it doesn’t. And it means I don’t swear. And it means I try to live a life according to the Bible, which means things like honesty. So I never stick with the ordinary.

And no, I’m not writing this to make myself better than you. I still slip up and sin all the time, when a swear word slips out or a mean word or I pass alone gossip. I’m writing this to tell you, you can’t be half Christian.

I hope this has made you think and if you have any questions, post them in the comments.

Miss Lissy

2 Responses to "A Break from the Ordinary"

Hi, nice post. I have been thinking about this topic,so thanks for sharing. I’ll likely be subscribing to your posts. Keep up the good posts

Thanks! I hope you come back and if you have any questions, feel free to comment here and I’ll do a post on them.

Leave a Reply

