College in a Suitcase

God and Poetry

Posted on: June 27, 2009

I don’t know if I’ve said anything about this before, but I’m pretty sure I have. I am a Lutheran. I believe in God and the Bible and I believe that everything in the Bible is true – not just the parts I like and yes, including the parts that are supposedly not “culturally relevant.” Yes, I have lost friends over this. Yes, I have been picked on, teased, and made fun of for this. Yes, I am still this despite all that. And no, it will never change. When you believe the truth why change?

This leads me to today’s post in our poetry series has to do with bringing a poem to church.

So if you were ever wondering, do God and poetry go together? Some poems, no. I’ve seen poems that are highly anti-Christian, anti-God, and anti-faith.

But some poems belong there. There are even poems in the Bible (the Psalms being the most famous examples).

I thought I would show you though a poem that I would bring to church. One that talks about God and reminds me sometimes that I am asking Him for the wrong things. It really is amazing when you change your view, how it helps. I mean, I could ask God for a different body because body image and self-esteem are something I’ve really struggled with, but instead I’ve asked Him to help me love the body He’s given me and I’ve begun to be able to look at it as His work and the majesty He’s created in me. It’s a freeing experience to recognize Him for His amazingness and not to focus on me. He created my body; who am I to say it’s not good enough?

So take the time to read this poem and I pray, if you do not know Jesus, you will come to find Him and realize what wondrous love He has to offer.

I Asked God

Asking God to bless your life,

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

