College in a Suitcase

Open Mic Blog

Posted on: August 8, 2009

So, unfortunately, no one entered the contest. Oh well. It was more for people’s personal gains than anything else. I’m not offended; I know poetry can be hard to write. Right now, however, I want to talk about where it’s at. As you may or may not know, I am going through this right here and celebrating poetry.

I should also mention, that starting on my birthday, I’m going to try to do a year of blogging every day. If you want to get involved, let me know, and there will be some periodic linkage going on.

But anyways this one is about reading at open mic night. It gives some helpful tips on doing it, but let me know why I think you should do it.

I think it is great exposure for you. You never know who will be there and hear. Also, it gives you practice for if you ever do get big and you do have to read out loud.

Also, I apologize if this isn’t so good. I’m very tired – I have had RA training all this week. I have more work left to do today.

However, I want to know what you guys think. Would you like a once a week open mic feature where aspiring writers could submit their poems and I would post one that I liked, plus a mini interview with the writer. Does that sound cool? I think I want to do it. I could call it Open Mic Mondays. Comment if you think it’s a cool idea. Also, if you’d like to submit your poem for consideration, you can submit it to collegesuitcase@yahoo.com – I’ll try and pick any poems on a Friday so that I have a chance to e-mail you questions. Some will be standard but always one will be random.

Have a good Saturday!

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

