College in a Suitcase

Day 6 – Old-Fashioned But Fun

Posted on: September 2, 2009

I have to tell you the truth. There are very few things more satisfying than writing a letter. Unfortunately, I don’t do it very often. I’ve fallen to the wayside where it’s easier and quicker to send someone an e-mail or talk to them on facebook chat. I do try, however, to write letters occasionally. I always get a thrill when I slip something in the mailbox – especially if it’s going to my sweetheart and he has no idea of it.

And I also love to get things in the mail. Yesterday I got a package – it had cookies and zucchini bread in it, as well as a sharpie and some mail that had come to my house. I’m so excited about the zucchini bread, but I’m saving it to share with the friends I see this weekend. It was from my mom for my birthday, which was last Friday, as you know, and coincidentally kicked off a year of blogging.

But anyways, you may be asking yourself what this has to do with the series. Simple. Today’s topic is putting a poem in a letter.

I’m really itching to do this now. So I started to think to myself, what poem would I put in a letter? It could be the one that I wrote for Paula, but I’m saving that for the care package that I’m mass sending, though I suppose, I could bring along the things I was saving for the care package this weekend, but where would be the fun in that.

At any rate, I think that either version of this poem would be a great encouragement to send to one of my friends in the faith. Actually, it’s a great encouragement overall and I really want to put it on my wall now. At any rate, if you had to send a poem to anyone, what poem would it be and who would you send it to?

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

