College in a Suitcase

Men with Pens and Women with Work

Posted on: October 12, 2009

So, I’m writing you another one of these lovely blog posts as I sit here at work, which is why I entitled it, partially, women with work, because I am a working woman. And most of the time, most of the time I like my desk job, but I would also like the sleep. Though, to be honest, I’m not sure when else I would work at the desk. My nights are jam packed full. Also, it’s very hot in this building. I want to take off my sweatshirt, but I wasn’t planning on needing to, so the tank top underneath is a little less than appropriate. So I’ll roll up my sleeves and stick with it.

So, another day with the list, eh?

Name of Blog: Men with Pens
Blog URL: http://menwithpens.ca/
About the Author(s): There are five of them and I’ll pick out the most interesting details about them each:
-James Chartrand: A Canadian (Quebec) teacher/copywriter/problogger/just about everything who loves blue, his kids, and ice skating
-Harrison McLeod: An American (Las Vegas) graphic designer/web designer who loves red, reading books, and archery.
-Charlie Pabst (like the alcohol?): An American (Seattle) writer/graphic designer/musician/just about everything who can climb large rocks which makes him brave and cool. (The only one without a color as well).
-Dave LaTulippe: An American (New York) graphic designer/web artist who can make things pretty and likes orange, his wife, and his cat.
-Taylor Lindstrom: An American (Boulder) female (!) copywriter and journalist who loves green and medieval weaponry.
What I Think of This Blog: They get plus points for a) the founder being Canadian and b) having mini-bios of all of them on their about us page. They even get points for content – I really like it. However, they committed my one blogging pet peeve – not giving me full articles on the first page. I don’t know why this bothers me so, but I’m sure everyone has their pet peeve.
Example of a Topic Covered: What the Heck is Going on With James? Which is about vacations. Which I would very much like.
Relevance to College Students: I think it’s very relevant – there is a lot that you can learn about writing and about blogging, so if you are a writer and a blogger, this blog is awesome for you!
Does This Blog Make It To My Blogs to Read Bookmarks?: No. Unfortunately, I can’t get over that full post thing. Maybe it’s my instant gratification or maybe it’s just that I like to skim my articles unless it’s something that I find really good or valuable, but I can’t handle that. Oh well – I know you have your pet peeves too.

From the longest review ever, I’m signing off.

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

