College in a Suitcase

Medicine and Writing – An Interesting Combination

Posted on: November 9, 2009

I’ll just kindly remove myself from the blog post today. I have no comments to make; I’m doing well. The Lord has blessed me truly. Now let’s get down to business.

Name of Blog: Writing Practice Prescription
Blog URL: http://ellentaliaferro.com/
About the Author: I don’t know how to say it other than she wrote it in her blog – at least for the first few sentences so I hope she doesn’t mind me copying and pasting. “Ellen H. Taliaferro, MD, FACEP serves as the Medical Director of the San Mateo Medical Center Keller Center for Family Violence Intervention in San Mateo, CA. She speaks and writes on the healthcare impact of violence and abuse.” She has also co-authored several books about abuse and written one herself about using writing to heal after such an act.
What I Think of This Blog: I think it’s definitely an interesting topic and not one that is widely covered. You don’t usually connect writing and medicine but there’s a lot of interesting things to be said about both.
Example of a Topic Covered: Recommended Book: Word Trippers by Barbara McNichol Check this post actually, because this sounds like a very helpful book.
Relevance to College Students: If you are studying to do anything with medicine and like to write (or blog) or if you want to know more about how writing and language are connected to our well-being, this is perfect for you.
Does This Blog Make It To My Blogs to Read Bookmarks?: No – it’s not my niche. Really interesting for an every once in a while read for me though.

Miss Lissy

2 Responses to "Medicine and Writing – An Interesting Combination"

Much thanks for you entry about my blog. To learn more about this topic, read anything you can about James Pennebaker, PhD

Ellen Taliaferro, MD

aka DrT

Thanks for mentioning Word Trippers and recommending it. To learn more, you can sign up for Word Tripper of the Week at http://www.BarbaraMcNichol.com and also purchase this ebook there.

Many blessings to Dr. T and all the great work you do!

Barbara

Leave a Reply

