College in a Suitcase

Beauty or Living Forever?

Posted on: April 6, 2010

“Would you be willing to become extremely ugly physically if it meant you would live for 1,000 years at any physical age you chose?”

Now, when I answer that I wouldn’t want to live for 1,000 years in exchange for my beauty, it’s not because I feel I am beautiful. Sometimes I do, but more often, I feel unbeautiful and average. I’m not the girl that guys have ever fallen over, but I’m learning to love the beauty I do have, the beauty that shines from the inside that goes beyond what people can see of me. People judge me for what they see sometimes, but that is the price of being different.

But I still would not choose it. Why? Because while I stayed that same age and lived for 1000 years, who around me would? What joy would I find in life when I lost everyone and knowing that this cycle would continue to happen, that every time I made new friends, they would grow old and die and I would keep on living. I think that would be too hard, to get attached to so many people for 1000 years.

My heart would cry too many tears.

What about you?

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

