College in a Suitcase

Under Oath

Posted on: April 11, 2010

“Would you be willing to commit perjury in court for a close friend? What if your lie would save his life?”

I’d be lying if I didn’t say this question was a tough one to answer. On the one hand, I should be honest and tell the truth and my friend would have to deal with the consequences of his or her actions. On the other hand, they’re someone I care about and I wouldn’t want to be responsible for their life or death.

But if you think about it – would I really be responsible? Say my close friend killed someone and I knew, which is better – to lie and say they didn’t or to let them take the just punishment for their crime? Because I am not responsible for their actions, but I am responsible for my own actions.

But then again, I know I have lied for people in the past when I knew something that might damage their reputation. But that I think is a different kind of lie because you’re not under oath. And it’s not a criminal matter. And usually those questions of reputation are things that are none of those people (the ones asking) business anyways.

So I’d like to say I wouldn’t do it, I’d like to say I’d be honest, but it’s hard to know that exact situation. I’m human too. I’d do my best to be honest, how’s that sound?

Miss Lissy

Leave a Reply

